Search A-Z Services: A B C D E F H I L M N O P R S T W

Notice Board:


Residents are advised of a proposed electricity shutdown on SUNDAY, 21 OCTOBER 2018, between the hours of 08h00 and 16h00, in various areas of Nelson Mandela Bay, caused by the temporary shutdown of the College Drive Substation, to allow repairs and maintenance to be carried out on a local transformer.  

Areas affected: Mill Park, St. Georges Park (only end of College Drive Road), Glendinningvale, Greenacres, Scotstown.

Streets affected: Ascot Road, Barris Walk Street, Bradshaw Street, Churchill Road, College Drive, Conyngham Road, Cape Road, Dene Road, Fairford Road, Highbeech Road, Lenox Street, McLean Road, Mill Park Road, Mortimer Road, Nightingale Street, Ramsay Lane, Salisbury Avenue, Wares Road, Way Avenue, Wembley Road, Westview Drive, Woodville Road, Young Road. 

All installations must be treated as live for the duration of the outage. - Apologies are tendered for any inconvenience caused.

Continued Progress Under New Mayoral Committee

Continued Progress Under New Mayoral Committee  

After just over a year in government, it is important to review progress made to date. 

As such, some changes to the Mayoral Committee are necessary  in the interest of channeling skills and expertise. 

This will take the coalition government in a direction that ensures  continued improvement of service delivery. 

Over the last year, this government has provided running water and flush sanitation to 12 000 residents through RDP relocation and serviced sites programmes. 

A Metro Police Service, two satellite stations  and Shotspotter technology have been established to create a safe city. 

Over 2000 job opportunities have been created through the EPWP programme, as we work towards ensuring an opportunity City for all. 

Corruption has been stopped in its tracks with the freezing of several dubious contracts and the suspension of numerous officials. 

This is the sort of progress we want to keep making  , but at an even faster rate. With this Mayoral Committee, I am confident we will be able to do so. 

The new Mayoral Committee is as follows: 

·        ·        Cllr Lance Grootboom - Public Health
·        Cllr Siyasanga Sijadu - Sports, Recreation, Arts & Culture
·        Cllr Nqaba Bhanga - Human Settlements
·        Cllr Andrew Whitfield - Economic Development, Tourism & Agriculture
·        Cllr Masixole Zinto - Infrastructure, Engineering, Electricity & Energy
·        Cllr Retief Odendaal - Budget & Treasury
·        Cllr Annette Lovemore - Corporate Services
·        Cllr Shirley Sauls - Constituency Services
·        Cllr Rano Kayser - Roads, Transport & Stormwater
·        Cllr John Best - Safety & Security  

I am confident that with these changes, the Metro will be able to deliver even better services and bolster the economy to create sustainable jobs. 

One City One Future

Executive Mayor
Cllr Athol Trollip

* required fields

* required fields

* required fields